I Am Too Legit To Quit!!

Standard

So this is how it feels to be a resident of the Dominican Republic.  Before I was un-legit.  I just had a piece of paper I carried around that said my paper work to become a legal resident was in order.  But now, now I have not one but TWO identification cards with my face on them!  How legit is that?

If you recall I had started my residency process within a few days of arriving in the country.  I just received the email stating my residency was ready about 2 weeks ago.  My appointment was for today at 10:30 a.m. in the capital.  That means the 7:00 a.m. bus from Cariribe Tours in Santiago.  Everything was going smoothly until I was about 2 minutes from the station in Santo Domingo and I looked in my purse only to find my passport was no where to be found…That was the one document I was required to bring and where was it?  Not with me, nope.  It was laying on my bed all the way back in Santiago.  I was starting to seriously panic.  When I called the Holt and Abreu Lawyers office they said it was required, but that they would see what they could do.  I was pretty convinced that I had just taken a 3 hour bus ride for kicks and would be going home empty handed.

I called the recommended taxi driver who happened to be a brother to pick me up from Caribe Tours.  As I was waiting for the taxi I noticed a couple dressed very nicely.  When I looked closer I saw the man had a Spanish tract in his front pocket.  He noticed the Watchtower I was holding and so we introduced ourselves.  They were originally from Oregon, but they have been in the country for about a year now and were on their way to the same place to collect their residency as well.

When the taxi arrived we learned there was a fourth, and she soon arrived.  Jill from Texas, just starting her process.  When we arrived at the office we were greeted with a whole group of needgreaters completing their residency process!  It was very stressful having to to this whole process, but it was made so much more enjoyable with my brothers and sisters.  It was an all day process so we were able to share all of our stories with each other.  “Where you from?”. “Where are you serving?”, “How long have you been here?”, “What language?”, etc.  It was such an encouraging, wonderful experience and I am so grateful to Jehovah for blessing me with such privileges.

The Immigration accepted the copy of my passport, (another thing to thank Jehovah for) and now I have a residency card and my very own cedula!  I am sooooo legit I can’t stand it!  I can go set up a cell phone…ON MY OWN!! This is awesome.  I am happy that it is all taken care of and I don’t have to worry about it again until next February.

And now, some pictures for your viewing pleasure!  Thanks for the emails, I love hearing from you guys!  Keep ‘m coming!

photo 3 (1)

We did evening witnessing yesterday. (left to right: Nicky, Armando and Cesar)

 

 

photo 1

Armando, Nicky and his mom Joesfina

 

photo 2 (1)

awww,, they picked up a lil homeless girl there on the left…OH!….that’s me..

 

 

 

Image

Nancy! One of the lovely sisters I met today.

Image

Image

The top one is the Residency, and the bottom is the Cedula. Whoop!

7 responses »

  1. Hello, my name is Melissa Elysee, I’m 17 years old and serving as a regular pioneer…I was at the circut assembly today, when I told a friend that myself and another young sister plan on serving in the Dominican Republic when I finish school…she immediatly referred me to your blog and now I’m hooked!…Please contact me as soon as you can. I have a thousand and one questions….my e-mail address is melielysee@aol.com 🙂

Leave a Reply

