I’m So Not in Kansas Anymore!

Standard

So Saturday was my first day of class, and let me just say WOW!  It was not as scary as I thought it would be in some instances, but it definitely will be  making me stretch just as I thought it would.  My class for the morning was a substitute class from 8:30-11:30a.m. All juniors and all VERY talkative.  They actually made me laugh a lot with some of the things they were coming up with.  I didn’t tell them that I was a sub at the beginning because I didn’t want to chance them loosing what little respect they may have had for me.  However, when I did tell them at the end they were actually sad! They wanted to know why I wasn’t and if I could change it!  I was so happy! They loved me, and that felt so rewarding because I thought they were doing really well and I enjoyed helping them.

So, as so many people have tried to tell me here, things in the DR don’t always go the way you would expect them to go.  Well, pretty much nothing does.  Everything is chaos and nothing is ever on time.  And I’m not used to it because it just wouldn’t cut it back home, no one would stand for it.  So this whole process of me teaching here at the New York center has all been very characteristic of all that is Dominican.  Basically day one I met with Dian, the Coordinator, and she tells me that I will be teaching three classes.  I take my exam, pick up the books, and am expected to show up and teach.  Just like that.  I didn’t even know what time the classes are, what their procedure is or basically anything about this institute.

Well I went home and went through the books and what information Bella and Isabel were able to give me so that helped.  I had called the day before class just to clarify a few things, like was the afternoon class for Saturdays starting this Saturday, what were the break times, etc.  I was told to only come for the sub class in the morning, so of course, when I arrive they tell me that I will actually be teaching the afternoon class too.  That meant after class I had to go all the way back to the house to get the materials for the second class and rush back to teach it.  And by the way, only 2 students showed up!  Oh, didn’t I mention?  Students don’t usually show up on the first day of class, and if they do they most definitely don’t have their books.  So, yes, I am so not in Kansas anymore.

Well, my next class is called Jump Start and that means these students do not speak any English.  Its 2:30 – 4:30 Monday through Thursday’s.  And I have to call around noon to see if I have enough students signed in to start the class tomorrow.  At least all this uncertainty and chaos keeps you on your toes!

2 responses »

  1. That sounds crazy and awesome! I’m glad they liked you and that you’re adapting so well. Oh, and those books you picked up, I threw them on the ground! 😛

Leave a Reply

