WOOooooOOW Its Time For an Update

Standard
  • I was unable to blog the progress of our move since the last post, so sorry.  So much has happened since then.  For example, I’m now in the Dominican Republic! YAY!  I arrived yesterday around 10 am. So let me start from the beginning.

Let’s blame it on life.  Life happens and so my partner in crime, Effie was unable to accompany me on this amazing journey, but she wishes me the best and I know she is happy for me.  I saved and raised money until I was able to make the move.  Just a side note, a great way to raise money is to make chocolate truffles! If you have the patience and time, you can do quite well.  When I get the chance I will definitely post the recipes I used.

Legally it all started to make a little more sense than it did in the beginning.  So I have found that it is not legally possible to work in the DR without a temporary residency visa.  That is unless you have a business visa which is only and option if you have been invited by a company for a specific reason.  So in order to obtain a residency visa there are few things you must do state-side.  Also keep in mind that there are new laws that will come into effect soon.  I believe after June you must apply from your home country for a visa instead of being able to do it once you arrive as I am.

So some necessary documents are a letter of good conduct from your local police station, notarized, authenticated by your county clerk and then apostilled by your state department.  You will also need your original Birth Certificate, and if you only have a certified copy, that must be apostilled as well.  It gets to be a little pricey, but there is no way around it.  My Notary charged $5 a document, the authentication by the County Clerk was $12, and then to apostille it was $20 plus a $6 fee for doing it at the actual State Department and not sending it in by mail.

So with all my documents in order, I will be heading to Santo Domingo tomorrow for my first appointment.  You must have an attorney now to do any kind of visa work.  I’m going through ResidencyDR.com and they provide everything you need: Physical, photos, translation of documents into Spanish, fingerprints, etc.  My appointment is at 9am, which I’m not ecstatic about since I’m in Santiago and it takes over 3 hours to get there!  But no one said this would be easy.

So that is all the legal info, apart from that I feel the need to inform my readers of how hard this is.  I was always so jealous of people who traveled and dropped everything to move to a different country.  But now I see the other side, because even if you don’t feel that emotionally attached to your home town (yes even if it is Stockton) you realize that you find that there is comfort in familiarity.  So I had a mini freak out on the plane, thinking ‘WHAT THE HEY HAVE YOU DONE?!?!?! ARE YOU CRAZY?!?!’ And now I’m just super excited to make this beautiful country my home.

I’ll be sure to post some pictures of where I’m staying and of  Santiago soon.  So stay tuned in for more awesomeness!

Leave a Reply

